Many Legislative Incumbents, Including Rep. Lon Burnam and Sen. John Carona, Lose Across Texas

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Progressive champion Lon Burnam will not return to Austin as a voting Representative in 2015

Several incumbent members of the Texas Legislature lost on Tuesday night and, despite filing and campaigning for re-election, will not be returning to Austin as an elected official in 2015. Among the casualties are two Democratic State Representatives, one Republican State Senator, and six Republican State Representatives.

The biggest loss of the night for progressives was in Tarrant County's House District 90. There, progressive Representative Lon Burnam (D) lost to challenger Ramon Romero by 111 votes. Burnam has served in the legislature since 1996 and has been known as the conscience and heart of the Democratic caucus. Burnam has been an advocate for the most progressive position possible on prison reform, drug reform, energy policy, education policy, and health care reform. In the last session, Burnam led the effort to find a way to expand Medicaid in Texas by partnering with moderate Republican members. Ramon Romero, who beat Burnam, was supported by out of state Charter school groups. Over time, HD-90 shifted from being a coalition district to one dominated by Hispanic residents. A Texas legislature without Lon Burnam will certainly be a less progressive place.

After the jump, read about the other Texas legislators who will not be returning.Senate District 16, Sen. John Carona (R) loses to Don Huffines (R)

The other headline grabbing defeat also came from the North Texas Metroplex. After self funding millions of dollars, Sen. John Carona lost to another self-funding millionaire, Don Huffines. Carona had previously said mainstream Republicans needed to stand up to TEA Party candidates. Don Huffines had the support of TEA Party leaders Glen Beck, Rand Paul, and Ted Cruz. The margin of defeat was 635 votes out of 49,637 cast or 1.28%.

House District 1, Rep. George Lavender (R) loses to Gary VanDeaver (R)

The one bright spot for those hoping for a more progressive legislature, sophomore incumbent George Lavender lost to Gary VanDeaver. VanDeaver was superintendent of the New Boston ISD and had the support of the pro-public education Texas Parent PAC. He beat the TEA Party incumbent by 1,502 votes or 8.68%.

House District 4, Rep. Lance Gooden (R) loses to Stuart Spitzer (R)

Sophomore incumbent and insurance salesman, Lance Gooden lost to Deacon Stuart Sptizer by 342 votes or 2.07%. The already conservative Gooden had earned the ire of the TEA Party while Spitzer was viewed as the TEA Party preferred candidate.

House District 55, Rep. Ralph Sheffield (R) loses to Molly White (R)

Earlier, I wondered if the wrong Sheffield was being targeted by conservatives. Well, with the results in “the wrong” Sheffield has lost. Sheffield who has served since 2008 lost to anti-abortion activatist Molly White by 691 votes or 7.44%. Sheffield accused White of running a negative campaign and of being an extreme, conservative who would not be able to govern effectively.

House District 76, Rep. Naomi Gonzalez (D) fails to make Democratic Runoff

In a three person race, sophomore incumbent Naomi Gonzalez failed to make the runoff. Gonzalez, who beat incumbent Rep. Norma Chavez (D) in 2010 went on to campaign against fellow Democrat Joe Moody and was arrested during session for DWI. While progressives do not have much to criticize when it comes to Rep. Gonzalez's voting record, these actions are unacceptable for good government and party activists. Proceeding to the May runoff is former Rep. Norma Chavez and Burnt Orange Report's endorsed candidate Cesar Blanco, who lead with 43.69% of the vote.

House District 94, Rep. Diane Patrick (R) loses to Tony Tinderholt (R)

Rep. Patrick, a former member of the Texas State Board of Education, was known as a champion for higher education in Texas. A fixture of Tarrant County politics, she served in the legislature since 2006. The University of Texas at Arlington is notably worried about losing their advocate in Austin. Tony Tinderholt, an endorsed candidate of Empower Texans, won by 1,471 votes or 10.89%.

House District 105, Rep. Linda Harper-Brown (R) loses to former Rep. Rodney Anderson (R)

House District 105 is one of the most competitive legislative seats for the general election in all of Texas. Harper-Brown, who served since 2002, lost to the TEA Party preferred candidate, Rodney Anderson, by 358 votes or 5.46%. Anderson beat Democrat Kirk England in 2010 only to see his district disappear in 2012's redistricting. A strong Democrat, who will be decided in a May runoff, will challenge Anderson in the general election.

House District 115, Bennett Ratliff (R) loses to Matt Rinaldi (R)

Another major blow to public education, freshman Bennett Ratliff fell by 92 votes or 1.12% to TEA party favorite Matt Rinaldi. This was the closest race featuring an incumbent legislator on primary night, 2014.

Possibly to be defeated later, Rep. Stefani Carter (R) of District 102 will be in a May runoff. More will be written on this race later. Overall, the Texas legislature had a net shift to the right when it came to the March, 2014 primary.


About Author

Joseph Vogas

Joseph was raised in Friendswood, Texas in North Galveston County. He went on to graduate from the University of North Texas with a degree in Political Science. After working for multiple campaigns, Joseph was able to work in the 83rd legislature in Austin in 2013. While retired from professional campaign work, Joseph enjoys sharing his knowledge of campaign data how to win elections in naturally unfriendly turf with others. Joseph is an avid archer and enjoys all things geek including Star Wars and DC Comics.

Leave a Reply

2015 © Skytop Publishing All Rights Reserved. Do not republish without express written permission.

Site designed and developed by well + done DESIGN

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×