- About Us
- Community Guidelines

Advertising on BOR
- Advertise on BOR


We're Counting On You.

Burnt Orange Report is redeveloping our website for the first time in almost a decade.

We're counting on your support to continue providing you free and frequent coverage of progressive issues that matter to Texans.

Help us build a website that is as great as the content we publish on it.

Username: Katherine Haenschen
PersonId: 4576
Created: Mon Nov 17, 2008 at 01:22 PM CST
Katherine Haenschen's RSS Feed

2012 Democratic State Representative Candidate Filings To Date

by: Katherine Haenschen

Here's a list of candidate filings for State Representative to date. Notable retirements at the bottom. Incumbents marked with an (i). Know something we don't? Post it in the comments.

2012 Election Cycle -- State Representative Candidates Filed as of December 2, 2011
District & Democratic CandidatesNotes
HD 8 -- Charles E. MorganChallenging Bryan Cook
HD 23 -- Craig Eiland (i)
HD 31 -- Ryan Guillen (i)
HD 33 -- Solomon Ortiz Jr.Ortiz lost the seat in 2010, but he's back to send Raul Torres packing.
HD 34 -- Abel HerreroHerrero lost to Connie Scott in 2010, and is running to reclaim his seat.
HD 35 -- Joseph Campos; Gus RuizTwo Democrats have already filed for the seat currently held by Jose Aliseda; redistricting makes this tough for the R's to hold.
HD 43 -- J.M. Lozano (i)
HD 48 -- Donna Howard (i)
HD 50 -- Mark Strama (i)
HD 51 -- Eddie Rodriguez (i)
HD 74 -- Efrain V. Valdez; Poncho NevarezThis is the seat Pete Gallego is vacating to challenge Quico Canseco for CD 23.
HD 80 -- Tracy King (i)
HD 93 -- Paula Pierson, Chris TurnerThis will be a doozy of a primary. Two former Democratic State Reps battling to take out Barbara Nash, who ousted Pierson back in 2010.
HD 95 -- Dulani "Jamal Jones" Masimini
HD 107 -- Carol KentKent is back to challenge for the seat she lost in 2010.
HD 110 -- Larry Taylor, Cedric DavisThis seat is being vacated by the retiring Barbara Mallory-Caraway
HD 111 -- Yvonne Davis (i)
HD 116 -- Trey Martinez-Fischer (i)
HD 117 -- Philip CortezChallenging Republican John Garza, who knocked out David McQuade Leibowitz in 2010.
HD 118 -- Joe Farias (i)
HD 120 -- Ruth Jones (i)
HD 123 -- Mike Villareal (i)
HD 124 -- Jose Menendez (i)
HD 131 -- Alma Allen (i)
HD 134 -- Ann Elizabeth JohnsonJohnson, a noted advocate for juvenile justice reform, is challenging Sarah Davis, who ousted Ellen Cohen in 2010. Cohen has since won election to the Houston City Council.
HD 140 -- Armando Walle (i)
HD 141 -- Senfronia Thompson (i)
HD 143 -- Ana Hernandez-Luna (i)
HD 145 -- Carol Alvarado (i)
HD 146 -- Borris Miles (i)
HD 148 -- Jessica Farrar (i)
HD 149 -- Hubert Vo (i)

Notable Retirements, Departures and Vacancies:
HD 40 -- Republican Aaron Pena retiring after switching parties to curry favor in redistricting, then getting drawn out by the courts
HD 41 -- Veronica Gonzalez retiring
HD 74 -- Pete Gallego running for Congress
HD 95 -- Marc Veasey running for Congress
HD 110 -- Barbara Mallory-Caraway retiring
HD 113 -- Republican Joe Driver retiring to spend more time with his felony convictions
HD 125 -- Joaquin Castro running for Congress
HD 137 -- Scott Hochberg retiring

Discuss :: (0 Comments)

2012 Democratic Congressional Candidate Filings To Date

by: Katherine Haenschen

Below is a growing list of candidate filings. Incumbents are indicated with an (i). Know of any we missed? Post 'em in the comments.

2012 Election Cycle -- Congressional Candidates Filed as of December 2, 2011
DistrictDemocratic CandidatesNotes
CD 5Tom BerryChallenging Jeb Hensarling
CD 6Don JaquessRunning against incumbent Joe Barton. The district was redrawn to be much less hostile to Democrats, but still an uphill battle.
CD 7Phillip AndrewsChallenging John Culberson
CD 8Neil BurnsChallenging Kevin Brady
CD 9Al Green (i)
CD 15Ruben Hinojosa (i)
CD 18Sheila Jackson Lee (i)
CD 23Pete GallegoGallego is challenging Quico "I Vote Against Cops" Canseco. Big pick-up opportunity for Democrats in Congress.
CD 28Henry Cuellar (i)
CD 29Gene Green (i)
CD 32Walter HofheinzChallenging Pete Sessions
CD 34Murphy Alade JunaidNew seat; past election results suggests it will be a Republican seat.
CD 35Ciro RodriguezRodriguez held the 23rd from 2007 to 2011 and the 28th from 1997 to 2005. He moved into the 35th when Charlie Gonzalz announced his retirement and Joaquin Castro shifted to the 20th.

Notable Retirements, Departures and Vacancies:
CD 14 -- Ron Paul retiring to focus on getting no media attention for Presidential campaign
CD 20 -- Charlie Gonzalez retiring
CD 33, 34, 35, 36 -- All vacant; new seats created in 2010 redistricting

Discuss :: (0 Comments)

Amazon Referrals
Buying Back-to-School Books?

Use BOR's Amazon Referral and we'll receive a share of your purchase, at no cost to you!

Click here to shop.

Connect With BOR

2014 Texas Elections
Follow BOR for who's in, who's out, and who's up.

Candidate Tracker:
-- Statewide Races
-- Congressional Races
-- State Senate Races
-- State Rep. Races
-- SBOE Races
-- Austin City Council

Click here for all 2014 Elections coverage


Make a New Account



Forget your username or password?

Texas Blue Pages

Texas Blue Pages
A career network for progressives.


Shared On Facebook

Burnt Orange Reporters
Editor and Publisher:
Katherine Haenschen

Senior Staff Writers:
Genevieve Cato
Joe Deshotel
Ben Sherman

Staff Writers:
Omar Araiza
Emily Cadik
Phillip Martin
Natalie San Luis
Katie Singh
Joseph Vogas

Byron LaMasters

Blogger Emeritus:
Karl-Thomas Musselman

Read staff bios here.

Traffic Ratings
- Alexa Rating
- Quantcast Ratings

Powered by: SoapBlox