- About Us
- Community Guidelines

Advertising on BOR
- Advertise on BOR


We're Counting On You.

Burnt Orange Report is redeveloping our website for the first time in almost a decade.

We're counting on your support to continue providing you free and frequent coverage of progressive issues that matter to Texans.

Help us build a website that is as great as the content we publish on it.

About Burnt Orange Report

by: Karl-Thomas Musselman

Sun Jan 22, 2006 at 04:11 PM CST

Please note this page needs to be updated as it's not very interesting or even accurate anymore.

Welcome to the Burnt Orange Report.

We're called the Burnt Orange Report because UT's colors are Burnt Orange and White, and we didn't really like the sound of the White Report. We'll save that one for the Council of Conservative Citizens and their good friends Haley Barbour and Trent Lott.

The Burnt Orange Report was founded at Live Journal in April 2003 by Byron LaMasters and Jim Dallas. In June 2003, Andrew Dobbs joined the Burnt Orange Report as a contributor. Later that month we decided to upgrade to our own domain name: BurntOrangeReport.com, which was bought by Byron and now owned by Karl-Thomas. Our current site is registered with Dreamhost (which we highly recommend), and we use SoapBlox, a community oriented next generation blogging platform. Karl-Thomas Musselman joined our team of contributers in October 2003.

Since the initial core of four writers, Byron brought on board four more regular contributors: Zach Neumann in October of 2004, Vince Leibowitz (Van Zandt County Chair) in Fall of 2004, Andrea Meyer and Katie Naranjo in March of 2005. Nathan Nance of Common Sense Blog guest posted during the Spring of 2005 while the staff was dealing with graduation and finals.

After graduating and gaining employment at the Tyson Organization, Byron sold and transferred ownership of Burnt Orange Report to Karl-Thomas. At that time a call went out for more Reporters and the existing staff selected five additional writers, Marcus Ceniceros, Drew Clinton, Phillip Martin, Damon McCullar, and John Pruett.

In August of 2005, two writers were added to the crew, Kirk McPike to help cover Dallas politics to compliment Byron's absense, and Matt Hardigree who wrote the "BORed" humor guest columns for the site.

We are all students at the University of Texas at Austin (ok, well Jim has graduated now, as has Byron and some of the new writers who were hired as graduates). We blog about National politics, Texas politics, Austin politics, UT and other college issues, and anything else that interests us. We're all Democrats and have been all involved in the University Democrats. We'd all probably consider ourselves progressives, but we don't agree on everything. We're no dittoheads, and we all have different writting styles and we even have our disagreements, since we all think for ourselves and all that, but we believe in most of the same general Democratic principals.

Thanks for stopping by, and we always appreciate respectful comments and debate.


Copyright Burnt Orange Report, all rights reserved.
Do not republish without express written permission.

Tags: , (All Tags)
Print Friendly View Send As Email

Connect With BOR

2014 Texas Elections
Follow BOR for who's in, who's out, and who's up.

Candidate Tracker:
-- Statewide Races
-- Congressional Races
-- State Senate Races
-- State Rep. Races
-- SBOE Races
-- Austin City Council

Click here for all 2014 Elections coverage


Make a New Account



Forget your username or password?

Texas Blue Pages

Texas Blue Pages
A career network for progressives.


Shared On Facebook

Burnt Orange Reporters
Editor and Publisher:
Katherine Haenschen

Senior Staff Writers:
Genevieve Cato
Joe Deshotel
Ben Sherman

Staff Writers:
Omar Araiza
Emily Cadik
Phillip Martin
Natalie San Luis
Katie Singh
Joseph Vogas

Byron LaMasters

Blogger Emeritus:
Karl-Thomas Musselman

Read staff bios here.

Traffic Ratings
- Alexa Rating
- Quantcast Ratings

Powered by: SoapBlox