- About Us
- Community Guidelines

Advertising on BOR
- Advertise on BOR


We're Counting On You.

Burnt Orange Report is redeveloping our website for the first time in almost a decade.

We're counting on your support to continue providing you free and frequent coverage of progressive issues that matter to Texans.

Help us build a website that is as great as the content we publish on it.

Rep. Pete Gallego Leads San Antonio Celebration of Spurs Championship on House Floor

by: Joseph Vogas

Wed Jun 18, 2014 at 10:00 AM CDT

The NBA's 2013-2014 season ended Sunday night. The good guys from The Alamo City, with the most international team in the league and led by the longest tenured coach in professional sports, brought the Larry O'Brien trophy home to San Antonio for a fifth time!

The San Antonio Spurs won the 2014 NBA Championship convincingly, four games to one, over the defending champions, The Miami Heat, who narrowly beat San Antonio in 2013. With this win, Tim Duncan and Coach Greg Popovich each have five championships to their name while guards Manu Ginobli and Tony Parker have four championships each. All earned their championships in San Antonio. This was the first championship for the rest of the team, including Finals MVP Kawhi Leonard, except for Matt Bonner who previously won with The Spurs in 2007. While last year was one of the closest finals in NBA history, this year's was the most lopsided as San Antonio won with a 70 point spread.

National championships deserve national recognition. Rep. Pete Gallego took to the floor of the US House on behalf of the San Antonio delegation to congratulate the San Antonio Spurs. Watch Rep. Gallego's celebratory remarks and find out what some Texans won from some unfortunate Floridians after the jump.


Winning comes with other perks. Two Miami area Representatives, Frederica Wilson and Joe Garcia, were supporting the wrong team. As such, they now owe Reps. Gallego, Castro, and their staffs a free lunch. Reps. Garcia and Wilson also must have their pictures taken in front of the US Capitol wearing Spurs jerseys.

The Spurs' victory has also resulted in Governor Perry earning some free chocolates care of Florida Governor Rick Scott.

Also, this gives me an excuse to re-publish this video from last year of San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro celebrating The Spurs and the city of San Antonio while continuing to fan the flames of rivalry between the city of San Antonio and Charles Barkley.

Mayor Castro has been a loyal Spurs fan and advocate, he did cause this to happen during his nomination for Secretary of Housing and Urban Development:

Team Captain and Power Forward Tim Duncan has now won a championship in three separate decades and has as many championships as Kobe Bryant and is one shy of tying the six won by The Chicago Bull's Michael Jordan and Scottie Pippin. The only NBA teams with more championships than the San Antonio Spurs are The Boston Celtics (17), Los Angeles Lakers (16), and Chicago Bulls (6).

The San Antonio Spurs will hold their celebratory victory parade on the Riverwalk at 6:00 tonight which will conclude with a free rally inside the Alamodome.

You can follow me on Twitter as I return to cheering for the Houston Rockets this off season at @trowaman.

Copyright Burnt Orange Report, all rights reserved.
Do not republish without express written permission.

Tags: (All Tags)
Print Friendly View Send As Email

Amazon Referrals
Buying Back-to-School Books?

Use BOR's Amazon Referral and we'll receive a share of your purchase, at no cost to you!

Click here to shop.

Connect With BOR

2014 Texas Elections
Follow BOR for who's in, who's out, and who's up.

Candidate Tracker:
-- Statewide Races
-- Congressional Races
-- State Senate Races
-- State Rep. Races
-- SBOE Races
-- Austin City Council

Click here for all 2014 Elections coverage


Make a New Account



Forget your username or password?

Texas Blue Pages

Texas Blue Pages
A career network for progressives.


Shared On Facebook

Burnt Orange Reporters
Editor and Publisher:
Katherine Haenschen

Senior Staff Writers:
Genevieve Cato
Joe Deshotel
Ben Sherman

Staff Writers:
Omar Araiza
Emily Cadik
Phillip Martin
Natalie San Luis
Katie Singh
Joseph Vogas

Byron LaMasters

Blogger Emeritus:
Karl-Thomas Musselman

Read staff bios here.

Traffic Ratings
- Alexa Rating
- Quantcast Ratings

Powered by: SoapBlox