- About Us
- Community Guidelines

Advertising on BOR
- Advertise on BOR


We're Counting On You.

Burnt Orange Report is redeveloping our website for the first time in almost a decade.

We're counting on your support to continue providing you free and frequent coverage of progressive issues that matter to Texans.

Help us build a website that is as great as the content we publish on it.

Dan Patrick, David Dewhurst To Debate For Wealthy White Men Behind Closed Doors

by: Katherine Haenschen

Mon Mar 17, 2014 at 09:30 AM CDT

Update 5:13 p.m. Dan Patrick has apparently withdrawn from the debate because he opposes the closed door policy for GOP voters. He still supports a closed door policy for immigrants, however.

The first debate in the Republican run-off for the most powerful office in the state will be held behind closed doors for a rich-white-men only audience at a country club in Houston on Tuesday.

The C Club, a purportedly "non-partisan" organization dedicated to "keeping Houston politics fiscally conservative" and preventing the threat of "tyrannical government" as represented by President Barack Obama, Harry Reid, and Nancy Pelosi, is hosting the debate, which is closed to the press and non-members.

Who are these members of the C Club that are permitted entry to the debate? 100 Houston professionals and businessmen, who are overwhelmingly male and exceedingly white.

Just like how the GOP likes its electorate, amirite? Of course given that their entire ticket is male and all but George P. Bush are as diverse as a loaf of Wonder Bread, this can't be too much of a shock.

More below the jump, including the C Club's curious endorsements in the March primary.

The C Club made some curious endorsements in the March 2014 Republican primary, including Barry Smitherman for Attorney General and Eric Opiela for Agriculture Commissioner, as well as Carol Alvarado for HD-145 in case anyone was crossing over to vote in the Democratic primary.

They declined to endorse in the first round of the Republican Lite Gov contest.

The Dallas Morning News has more on the group:

The club says it's nonpartisan but it has a strong Republican tilt. Past presidents include prominent Republicans, such as Houston Texans owner Bob McNair, former state GOP chairman George Strake and former Texas Secretary of State Jack Rains, who ran unsuccessfully against Clayton Williams and two others for the GOP gubernatorial nomination in 1990.

The C Club touts its fiscal conservatism and support for judicial candidates who support "a conservative approach to enforcement of Texas law." Among its members is Texans for Lawsuit Reform founder, chairman and chief executive Richard W. Weekley. Weekley's group has led a successful campaign to limit lawsuit awards as a way of reining in personal-injury lawyers.

As Dewhurst attempts to out-pander Patrick with the conservative fringe, it's too bad that the media won't be there to record what they have to say on immigration, women's rights, equal pay, education funding, or any other issues that might matter to an electorate beyond those who participate in a GOP run-off.

Maybe one of the folks in attendance will share the candidates' remarks on Twitter, though I won't hold my breath hoping for the full, unfiltered version of what they both say.

Update 5:13 p.m. According to Twitter, Dan Patrick has withdrawn from the debate:

Copyright Burnt Orange Report, all rights reserved.
Do not republish without express written permission.

Tags: (All Tags)
Print Friendly View Send As Email

Amazon Referrals
Buying Back-to-School Books?

Use BOR's Amazon Referral and we'll receive a share of your purchase, at no cost to you!

Click here to shop.

Connect With BOR

2014 Texas Elections
Follow BOR for who's in, who's out, and who's up.

Candidate Tracker:
-- Statewide Races
-- Congressional Races
-- State Senate Races
-- State Rep. Races
-- SBOE Races
-- Austin City Council

Click here for all 2014 Elections coverage


Make a New Account



Forget your username or password?

Texas Blue Pages

Texas Blue Pages
A career network for progressives.


Shared On Facebook

Burnt Orange Reporters
Editor and Publisher:
Katherine Haenschen

Senior Staff Writers:
Genevieve Cato
Joe Deshotel
Ben Sherman

Staff Writers:
Omar Araiza
Emily Cadik
Phillip Martin
Natalie San Luis
Katie Singh
Joseph Vogas

Byron LaMasters

Blogger Emeritus:
Karl-Thomas Musselman

Read staff bios here.

Traffic Ratings
- Alexa Rating
- Quantcast Ratings

Powered by: SoapBlox