BOR Elections: A Last Call for New Candidates for 2014 General Election

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Previously, Burnt Orange Report posted about Democratic candidate recruitment and how Democrats have been outpacing Republicans when it came to finding challengers to run for various legislative seats. Since then, Democrats have continued to grow their challenger leads with new candidates declaring for federal and state legislative seats. Including their incumbents, Democrats are now competing in 22 of 36 congressional seats, 8 of 16 Texas Senate seats, 79 of 150 Texas House seats, and 5 of 7 seats on the State Board of Education.

This matters because for every Republican legislator that is distracted, trying to protect their own political career, that Republican will not be campaigning or donating to Greg Abbott and the rest of the Republican statewide ticket.

Democrats will need more candidates to declare and file for legislative seats from now until the filing deadline which ends next week, Monday, December 9, to force Republicans to play as much defense as possible. Check out Burnt Orange Report's candidate trackers to see where Democrats still need candidates to declare and file before next Monday:

US Congress

Texas Senate

Texas House

State Board of Education

If no Democrat is listed as running for office in your area, contact your county chairman and ask if one is. If there is not, why not you? Ask your chairman what needs to be done so you can run for office. You can verify what district you live in here.

After the jump is a complete list of legislative seats where Democrats are still needed for the  2014 general election.US Congress

-District 2; North Harris County

-District 3; Collin County, Plano

-District 4; Northeast Texas, Rockwall

-District 5; East Dallas County and East Texas

-District 6; Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex, Arlington

-District 8; East Texas, The Woodlands

-District 10; Central Texas, West Harris County to North Travis County

-District 11; West Texas, Midland/Odessa

-District 17; Central Texas, Waco and College Station

-District 21; Central Texas, North Bexar County to South Travis County

-District 22; Fort Bend County to Southeast Harris County

-District 25; Central Texas, Northwest Travis County to Johnson County

-District 27; Coastal Texas, Nueces County to Bastrop

Texas Senate

-District 2; East Texas, East Dallas and Rockwall

-District 3; East Texas, Nacadoches

-District 4; Southeast Texas, The Woodlands to Beaumont

-District 5; Central Texas, Williamson County and College Station

-District 7; Northwest Harris County

-District 8; Plano and Richardson

-District 16; North Dallas County

-District 30; North Texas, Wichita Falls and Denton

-District 31; Panhandle, Amarillo, Midland, and Odessa

Texas House

-District 1; East Texas, Texarkana

-District 2; East Texas, Canton

-District 3; Montgomery County, Magnolia

-District 4; East Texas, Athens

-District 5; East Texas, Mineola

-District 6; Smith County, Tyler

-District 7; East Texas, Longview

-District 8; East Texas, Corsicana

-District 9; East Texas, Marshall

-District 10; Metroplex, Waxahachie

-District 11; East Texas, Nacadoches

-District 12; Central Texas, Bryan to Waco

-District 13; Central Texas, Brenham

-District 14; Brazos County, College Station

-District 15; Montgomery County, The Woodlands

-District 18; East Texas, Dayton

-District 19; East Texas, Woodville

-District 20; Central Texas Georgetown

-District 24; North Galveston County, Friendswood/League City

-District 25; Coastal, Angleton/Lake Jackson/Freeport

-District 28; Fort Bend County, Simonton

-District 29; Brazoria County, Pearland

-District 30; Coastal, Victoria

-District 32; East Nueces County, Corpus Christi

-District 33; Collin County, Rockwall

-District 44; Central Texas, Seguin

-District 45; Central Texas, San Marcos

-District 47; West Travis County, Austin

District 52; Williamson County, Round Rock Chris Osborne will run for the Democrats

-District 53; West Texas, Kerrbille

-District 54; Central Texas, Killeen

-District 55; Bell County, Temple

-District 56; McLennan County, Waco

-District 57; East Texas, Lufkin

-District 58; Metroplex, Burleson

-District 59; West Texas, Gatesville

-District 60; West Texas, Granbury

-District 61; Metroplex, Weatherford

-District 62; North Texas, Sherman

-District 66; Collin County, Plano

-District 67; Collin County, Plano

-District 68; West Texas, Gainesville

-District 69; North Texas, Wichita Falls

-District 70; Collin County, McKinney

-District 71; West Texas, Abilene

-District 72; West Texas, San Angelo

-District 73; Central Texas, New Braunsfels

-District 81; West Texas, Odessa

-District 82; West Texas, Midland

-District 83; West Texas, Lubbock

-District 84; Lubbock County, City of Lubbock

-District 85; Central Texas, Rosenberg

-District 86; Panhandle, Amarillo

-District 88; Panhandle, Canadian

-District 93; Tarrant County, North Arlington and North Fort Worth

-District 96; South Tarrant County, Mansfield

-District 97; Southwest Tarrant County, Benbrook

-District 98; Northeast Tarrant County, Grapevine and Southlake

-District 99; Northwest Tarrant County, Saginaw

-District 112; North Dallas County, Garland

-District 114; North Dallas County, City of Dallas

-District 121; North Bexar County, Alamo Heights

-District 122; Northwest Bexar County

-District 126; Northwest Harris County, unincorporated areas

-District 127; Northeast Harris County, Lake Houston and Humble

-District 128; East Harris County, Baytown

-District 130; Northwest Harris County, unincorporated areas

-District 132; West Harris County, Katy

-District 133; West Harris County, Bunker Hill Village

-District 138; Harris County, Far West Houston

State Board of Education

-District 7; Southeast Texas, Sugarland, Galveston, Beaumont,

-District 11; Metroplex, Fort Worth suburbs


About Author

Joseph Vogas

Joseph was raised in Friendswood, Texas in North Galveston County. He went on to graduate from the University of North Texas with a degree in Political Science. After working for multiple campaigns, Joseph was able to work in the 83rd legislature in Austin in 2013. While retired from professional campaign work, Joseph enjoys sharing his knowledge of campaign data how to win elections in naturally unfriendly turf with others. Joseph is an avid archer and enjoys all things geek including Star Wars and DC Comics.

Leave a Reply

2015 © Skytop Publishing All Rights Reserved. Do not republish without express written permission.

Site designed and developed by well + done DESIGN

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×