BOR Elections Weekly Round Up, Sept. 30 – Oct. 6: Wendy Davis (D) Announces for Governor

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

After months of speculation, hope, and dreams, last week Texas Democrats landed their first candidate for Governor and it's their ideal candidate.

On Thursday, Senator Wendy Davis (D) announced she would seek the office of Governor of the great state of Texas. While her announcement could not be described as a surprise, it was certainly exciting! If you were unable to attend last Thursday's event, please catch up by reading Burnt Orange Report's liveblog of the announcement. However, with Sen. Davis running for Governor, this means there is no longer a Democrat running in Tarrant County's Senate District 10. Hopefully, a strong recruit will emerge to try and retain the seat for the Democrats.

Sen. Davis was not the only person to announce for Governor last week. Several Libertarian candidates for statewide offices emerged, including 2010 nominee Kathy Glass (L) who said she would once more seek the office of Governor. Ms. Glass will be joining Gene Chapman (L) in the race for the Libertarian party's nomination. Two other Libertarians also announced for Lieutenant Governor: Journalist Brandon de Hoyos (L) and businessman Ed Kless (L). Rounding out the Libertarian Party's roll out is Lago Vista City Council Member Ed Tidwell (L) for Land Commissioner and businessman Mark Miller (L) who will run for Railroad Commissioner.

Major retirements hit both chambers of the Texas Legislature last week. Click below the jump to see who is leaving and who else will be running in 2014!Retirements

Rep. Allan Ritter (R – 21) of Nederland announced on Friday he would not seek re-election in 2014. Rep. Ritter was originally elected as a Democrat in 1998, and won several close elections. However, after the 2010 wave, Rep. Ritter decided to become the 100th Republican in the Texas House and created the super-majority. Last cycle's redistricting more clearly divided Jefferson County among partisan lines; Rep. Ritter was given a seat almost as Republican (President Obama got 23.81% in 2012) as Rep. Deshotel's (D – 22) is Democratic (President Obama got 66.71% in 2012). Despite his party switch, Rep. Ritter was respected by members on both sides of the aisle for his work in the legislature. He serves as the Chair of Natural Resources and was the lead author behind the state water plan the legislature approved in the last session. Rep. Ritter has become another high profile Committee Chair and ally of Speaker Straus to retire this year; he is the 13th retirement this year from the Texas House.

Sen. Tommy Williams (R – 4), who just happens to represent much of the same area as Rep. Ritter, announced he intends to resign from the Texas Senate in the near future. He is intending to resign to take a government relations job with Texas A&M. His resignation is pending at this time so the special election to replace him may align with other planned elections. This may also give candidates who wish to run time to prepare themselves and consider their options before the filing deadline. Sen. Williams' seat was not regularly scheduled to be up for election until 2016.

The following lawmakers confirmed they are seeking re-election in 2014:

Texas Senate

Kelly Hancock (R – 9)

Texas House

Dan Flynn (R – 2)

Dawnna Dukes (D – 46)

The following are new candidates added to the candidate trackers in the last week. They are all either running for open seats or challenging incumbents.

Texas House

-16: Banker Will Metcalf (R) is the second Republican to declare as a candidate for the seat of the retiring Rep. Brandon Creighton (R).

-53: Rep. Harvey Hilderbran's (R) open seat has also attracted another candidate. Kimble County Judge Andrew Murr (R) is the third Republican to declare for this rural seat.

-106: Denton County Democrats have landed a challenger to take on Rep. Pat Fallon (R). Business analyst Lisa Osterholt (D) will challenge the first-term incumbent in next fall's general election.

All of this information and more can be viewed at the following links:

– Statewide Offices

– US Congress

– Texas Senate

– Texas House

– State Board of Education

Did we miss something? Is something incorrect? Please help complete the 2014 database by sending an e-mail to with a linked source on what is missing. The filing deadline for the 2014 elections is December 9, 2013.


About Author

Joseph Vogas

Joseph was raised in Friendswood, Texas in North Galveston County. He went on to graduate from the University of North Texas with a degree in Political Science. After working for multiple campaigns, Joseph was able to work in the 83rd legislature in Austin in 2013. While retired from professional campaign work, Joseph enjoys sharing his knowledge of campaign data how to win elections in naturally unfriendly turf with others. Joseph is an avid archer and enjoys all things geek including Star Wars and DC Comics.

Leave a Reply

2015 © Skytop Publishing All Rights Reserved. Do not republish without express written permission.

Site designed and developed by well + done DESIGN

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×