Equality Texas Releases House Report Card for 83rd Session

0 Flares Filament.io 0 Flares ×

It's refreshing to say that it was a good session for Equality Texas.  They tracked a record 31 bills in their Legislative Agenda, including multiple pieces of legislation that were filed for the first time ever, bills that advanced out of committee for the first time, and two bills that have been sent to the Governor for signature. They also saw the successful defeat of five bad bills, including an amendment that would have defunded gender & sexuality centers, legislation targeting school districts that offer competitive insurance benefits, and an amendment allowing student organizations to ignore campus nondiscrimination policies.

As such, there was plenty of data on which to score legislators, admittedly, a complex process. Here's the explanation given by Equality Texas.

Rankings of legislators are always tricky. It's difficult to include all the little things that happen behind the scenes, the influence of members on each other, or the true motivations or beliefs of individual members. That said, it's important to acknowledge the public actions of the people elected to represent us. In compiling this score card we considered public votes, authorship of pro- and anti-LGBT legislation, filing of resolutions acknowledging the LGBT community and committee votes on issues affecting the LGBT community. Behind the scenes work and advocacy was not included.

We've given each member of the Texas House a letter grade. The best lawmakers got an “A+,” the worst an “F-” (that's how bad they are, we had to invent a grade).

Click below the fold to see the Top 10 Best & Worst members of the Texas House.  Top 10 House Members

Be sure to read EQTX's commentary on each of these here. Some are pretty humorous.

1. Garnet Coleman (D- Houston)

2. Ron Reynolds (D- Missouri City)

3. Roberto Alonzo (D- Dallas)

4. Mary González (D- Clint)

5. Elliot Naishtat (D- Austin)

6. Lon Burnam (D- Fort Worth)

7. Rafael Anchia (D- Dallas)

7. Gene Wu (D- Houston)

9. Armando Walle (D- Houston)

9. Joe Moody (D- El Paso)

9. Alma Allen (D- Houston)

Worst 10 House Members

Again, be sure to read EQTX's commentary on each of these here.

1. Matt Krause (R – Fort Worth)

2. Dennis Bonnen (R – Angleton)

3. Bill Zedler (R- Arlington)

4. Steve Toth (R- The Woodlands)

5. Drew Springer (R- Muenster)

5. Harvey Hildebran (R- Kerrville)

7. Scott Sanford (R- McKinne)

8. Cecil Bell (R- Magnolia)

8. Giovanni Capriglione (R- Southlake)

8. Brandon Creighton (R- Conroe)

8. George Lavender (R- Texarkana)

8. Jeff Leach (R- Plano)

8. Larry Phillips (R- Sherman)

8. Walter 'Four' Price (R- Amarillo)

8. Ron Simmons (R- Lewisville)

8. Phil Stephenson (R- Wharton)

8. Jonathan Stickland (R- Bedford)

The full list of ratings is available here. EQTX has made their spreadsheet available with all the data from each vote. A detailed explanation of how points were allocated to determine ratings is at the bottom of this page.  


About Author

Former Publisher & Owner of the Burnt Orange Report. Political Thinker, Digital Explorer, and Time Traveler.

Leave a Reply

2015 © Skytop Publishing All Rights Reserved. Do not republish without express written permission.

Site designed and developed by well + done DESIGN

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×