- About Us
- Community Guidelines

Advertising on BOR
- Advertise on BOR


We're Counting On You.

Burnt Orange Report is redeveloping our website for the first time in almost a decade.

We're counting on your support to continue providing you free and frequent coverage of progressive issues that matter to Texans.

Help us build a website that is as great as the content we publish on it.

UT-Austin Student Government Passes AR-1 in Support of Gender & Sexuality Center

by: Karl-Thomas Musselman

Tue Apr 09, 2013 at 10:31 PM CDT

While Texas A&M was busy having to rely on its student body president to veto anti-gay campus legislation, the newly seated UT-Austin Student Government has passed, unanimously, AR 1, a resolution in support of preserving the campus' Gender & Sexuality Center. This is the first resolution considered and approved by the newly seated body.

The measure was not for lack of authors or sponsors with Kent Kasischke, Connor Hughes, Nosa Aimuyo, Janet Yang, and former UDems President Billy Calve authoring, and Hughes, Aimuyo, and Garret Riou carrying the legislation.

UT-Austin joins the University of Houston in passing resolutions in support of their campus' LGBT and Gender resource centers.


Copyright Burnt Orange Report, all rights reserved.
Do not republish without express written permission.

Tags: , , , (All Tags)
Print Friendly View Send As Email

Amazon Referrals
Buying Back-to-School Books?

Use BOR's Amazon Referral and we'll receive a share of your purchase, at no cost to you!

Click here to shop.

Connect With BOR

2014 Texas Elections
Follow BOR for who's in, who's out, and who's up.

Candidate Tracker:
-- Statewide Races
-- Congressional Races
-- State Senate Races
-- State Rep. Races
-- SBOE Races
-- Austin City Council

Click here for all 2014 Elections coverage


Make a New Account



Forget your username or password?

Texas Blue Pages

Texas Blue Pages
A career network for progressives.


Shared On Facebook

Burnt Orange Reporters
Editor and Publisher:
Katherine Haenschen

Senior Staff Writers:
Genevieve Cato
Joe Deshotel
Ben Sherman

Staff Writers:
Omar Araiza
Emily Cadik
Phillip Martin
Natalie San Luis
Katie Singh
Joseph Vogas

Byron LaMasters

Blogger Emeritus:
Karl-Thomas Musselman

Read staff bios here.

Traffic Ratings
- Alexa Rating
- Quantcast Ratings

Powered by: SoapBlox