New Leaders Texas hosts South Texas Mayors' Stakeholder Summit

0 Flares 0 Flares ×

New Leaders Texas began after the 2010 election when a group of Texans in their 20s and 40s took a look around the state and thought that the state needed a new direction. Some of these folks were Democrats, some Republicans, and a number independent. Many had never really been involved in politics or public life before.

The goal of New Leaders Texas was to foster the next generation of principled, capable leaders for our state – people who will be thought leaders and doers. Since then, we've hosted candid off-the-record leadership talks with the likes of Evan Smith and Kirk Watson and a meeting of mayors in South Texas to discuss regional issues. Now, we are proud to bring together a diverse group of government, community, and civic leaders for an expanded two-day dialogue about this vital, yet often misunderstood, region of our state. 

On Friday and Saturday, March 22 and 23, leaders from South Texas and beyond will gather in Edinburg for a frank discussion of border issues, education, energy and health care, with panelists including Congressmen Joaquin Castro and Filemon Vela and San Antonio Mayor Julián Castro, who is also Saturday's keynote speaker.

We want to invite young and emerging leaders who would like to learn more about the South Texas region. It doesn't matter if you are a Democrat or a Republican or neither.  All that matters is that you care about our state and engaging in a straightforward dialogue with a variety of stakeholders.

Online registration is now open. For out of town attendees, we have a block of rooms available at two nearby McAllen hotels. (Hotel inks are on the the registration page and the New Leaders Texas website.)

Our generous hosts, Congressman Filemon Vela, Congressman Joaquin Castro, Rep. Mary González, Ambassador Lyndon Olson, Hon. Richard Garcia, Scott Atlas, Frank Drew, Matteson Ellis, Ramiro Garza, Aziz Gilani, Jared LeBlanc, Chuck Rocha, Kinan Romman, Mark Yzaguirre  and Valley PAC, have allowed us to keep general admission fees low ($50) and even lower for city and state employees and students ($25). 

Questions and sponsorship opportunities should be directed to Kathleen Thompson, and 512.591.8683.

(Brian Stansbury is the President of the Board of New Leaders Texas)


About Author

Leave a Reply

2015 © Skytop Publishing All Rights Reserved. Do not republish without express written permission.

Site designed and developed by well + done DESIGN

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 0 Flares ×