- About Us
- Community Guidelines

Advertising on BOR
- Advertise on BOR


We're Counting On You.

Burnt Orange Report is redeveloping our website for the first time in almost a decade.

We're counting on your support to continue providing you free and frequent coverage of progressive issues that matter to Texans.

Help us build a website that is as great as the content we publish on it.

Senate Draws Straws for Term Lengths

by: Chaille Jolink

Wed Jan 23, 2013 at 05:36 PM CST

Today the Senate drew numbers from an envelope to determine who gets to serve a two-year term and who has a four-year term.

The envelopes had numbers 1-31 inside and those who drew an even number received a two-year term and those who drew an odd number received a four-year term. This is a process that occurs every cycle after redistricting, and yes their term lengths are really decided this way.  

Here's how it went down:

Brian Birdwell (R-Granbury): 4-yr. term

Donna Campbell (R-New Braunfels): 2-yr. term

John Carona (R-Dallas): 2-yr. term

Wendy Davis (D-Forth Worth): 2-yr. term

Bob Deuell (R-Greenville): 2-yr. term

Robert Duncan (R-Lubbock): 4-yr. term

Rodney Ellis (D-Houston): 4-yr. term

Kevin Eltife (R-Tyler): 4-yr. term

Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls): 2-yr. term

Troy Frasier (R-Horseshoe Bay): 4-yr. term

Kelly Hancock (R-North Richland Hills): 2-yr. term

Glenn Hegar (R-Katy): 4-yr. term

Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa (D-McAllen): 4-yr. term

Joan Huffman (R-Southside Place): 2-yr. term

Eddie Lucio, Jr. (D-Brownsville): 4-yr. term

Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound): 4-yr. term

Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville): 4 2-yr. term

Dan Patrick (R-Houston): 2-yr. term

Ken Paxton (R-McKinney): 2-yr. term

Jose Rodriguez (D-El Paso): 4-yr. term

Charles Schwertner (R-Georgetown): 2-yr. term

Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo): 2-yr. term

Larry Taylor (R-Friendswood): 4-yr. term

Carlos Uresti (D-San Antonio): 4-yr. term

Leticia Van de Putte (D-San Antonio): 4-yr. term

Kirk Watson (D-Austin): 2-yr. term

Royce West (D-Dallas): 2-yr. term

John Whitmire (D-Houston): 2-yr. term

Tommy Williams (R-The Woodlands): 4-yr. term

Judith Zaffirinni (D-Laredo): 4-yr. term

Winner of SD 6 (Election Day Jan 26): 4-yr. term


Copyright Burnt Orange Report, all rights reserved.
Do not republish without express written permission.

Tags: (All Tags)
Print Friendly View Send As Email

So this would be (0.00 / 0)
presumptive of a lower degree of probability for a "Wendy Davis for Governor in 2014" campaign?

Afflicting the comfortable via...

Amazon Referrals
Buying Back-to-School Books?

Use BOR's Amazon Referral and we'll receive a share of your purchase, at no cost to you!

Click here to shop.

Connect With BOR

2014 Texas Elections
Follow BOR for who's in, who's out, and who's up.

Candidate Tracker:
-- Statewide Races
-- Congressional Races
-- State Senate Races
-- State Rep. Races
-- SBOE Races
-- Austin City Council

Click here for all 2014 Elections coverage


Make a New Account



Forget your username or password?

Texas Blue Pages

Texas Blue Pages
A career network for progressives.


Shared On Facebook

Burnt Orange Reporters
Editor and Publisher:
Katherine Haenschen

Senior Staff Writers:
Genevieve Cato
Joe Deshotel
Ben Sherman

Staff Writers:
Omar Araiza
Emily Cadik
Phillip Martin
Natalie San Luis
Katie Singh
Joseph Vogas

Byron LaMasters

Blogger Emeritus:
Karl-Thomas Musselman

Read staff bios here.

Traffic Ratings
- Alexa Rating
- Quantcast Ratings

Powered by: SoapBlox