Burnt Orange Report


News, Politics, and Fun From Deep in the Heart of Texas







Support the TDP!





February 19, 2004

This Should Never Happen

By Byron LaMasters

I was setting up my right sidebar of candidates I'm urging our readers to give to. I wanted to put up all the endangered Texas congressmen's websites. I found the websites of Lloyd Doggett, Chet Edwards, Martin Frost, Nick Lampson and Charlie Stenholm with ease. Then I go and look for Max Sandlin's. And what do I find when I type in www.maxsandlin.com? A link to his right-wing Republican opponent's site. Ugh. I have some friends in TYD with the Sandlin campaign, and I hate to say this, but someone dropped the ball. Not registering MaxSandlin.com is unacceptable. Jesus. We need to get our act together.

Posted by Byron LaMasters at February 19, 2004 12:55 AM | TrackBack

Comments

Isn't it illegal to "squat" on a domain that it is a someone else's trademark or personal name? I thought Congress enacted such a law several years back. (When the internet was young, random people registered "Nike," etc., and charged a fortune to give the domains to the companies with those trademarks. The law plugged that hole).

Posted by: WhoMe? at February 19, 2004 08:10 AM

That's pretty funny. Dirty politics Texas style. By the time the courts decide about sqatting the damage will've been done. By the way could you add our Church to the list of causes worthy of donations? Church of Fandel. We're on Google. 5 dollars per donation would be swell.

Posted by: Ricky Vandal at February 19, 2004 08:45 AM

the republican in question is "Wayne Christian". he gets a lot of mileage out of that. look at his web site at your own risk of being nauseated.

you can call wayne at (936) 591-0867 and mention how unChristian it is to steal and covet.

Posted by: karl rove at February 19, 2004 08:59 AM

Besides Wayne, everyone should punk the guy who owns the domain. Send your regards to Aaron today.

Domain name: MAXSANDLIN.COM

Administrative Contact:
Aaron Crouch
Aaron Crouch (cro6198@etbu.edu)
(972)612-4888
Fax: none
ETBU Box 6201
Marshall, TX 75670
US

Posted by: Barry at February 19, 2004 03:28 PM

The same thing happened to David Dewhurst in 2002. You gotta move fast nowadays.

Posted by: Charles Kuffner at February 19, 2004 08:36 PM

The same thing happened in 1998 when Sharp registered a perry domain ( i believe it was rickperry.org). man! if Sharp hadnt done this first, we could blame it on republicans!

Posted by: David at February 19, 2004 11:13 PM
Post a comment









Remember personal info?








March 2005
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    


About Us
About/Contact
Advertising Policies

Donate

Tip Jar!



Archives
Recent Entries
Categories
BOR Edu.
BOR News
BOR Politics
Linked to BOR!
Polling
Texas Stuff
A Little Pollyana
Austin Bloggers
DFW Bogs
DMN Blog
In the Pink Texas
Inside the Texas Capitol
The Lasso
Pol State TX Archives
Quorum Report Daily Buzz
George Strong Political Analysis
Texas Law Blog
Texas Monthly
Texas Observer
TX Dem Blogs
TX GOP Blogs
Daily Reads
College Blogs
GLBT Blogs
More Reads
BOR Webrings
Election Returns
Texas Media
World News



Powered by
Movable Type 3.15